By / Thursday, October 16, 2014 / No comments /

Review || Gorgon City 'Sirens' Album

Album Of The Week || Gorgon City Sirens 

gorgon city sirens

Hailing from the North of London producers Matt & Kye joined forces to form one of the iconic duo's of hte year Gorgon City. Their already distinctive sound is a logical development of the duo’s individual work as RackNRuin and Foamo. Signed to the impressive Black Butter camp (who brought you Rudimental amongst others) the duo has continued to woo fans one release at a time.  Its true to say that Gorgon City are one of the most exciting and hotly tipped new acts in the ever-flourishing landscape of British club savvy pop.

From the day the news broke about their debut artist album we had a feeling that it might blow our socks off. Oh boy were we mistaken, Sirens has cast a powerful spell over us and exceeds all expectations. It's not often you listen to an album from start to finish and are captivated by every single song. Every time it ends we can't wait to press replay again, thats what the effect of good music and Sirens does it effortlessly. 

 In true Gorgan City style Sirens offers a sound that is  polished, powerful and party-minded. Sirens features the pairs hit singles Ready For Love with MNEK, Real featuring Yasmin and Here For You with Laura Welsh. In addition to those tracks the pair has collaborated with the likes of  LIV, Katy B, Zak Able, and Jennifer Hudson to name a few.

The album starts of with Coming Home featuring the strong male vocals of  Maverick Sabre layered on top of the duo's signature beat , piano melodies and pulsing basslines providing good feeling all round. After the popular Ready For Your Love Katy B serenades you with her sultry vocals on Lover Like You. Laura Welsh than ignites your romantic side after that Erik Hassle takes it a step down with FTPA. Erik is a swedish pop star whose voice reminds us of our very own Matthew Gold. The drum beats, piano and trumpet all work in harmony to  create a track thats all glamour and feelings and sets the tone for the next track Go All Night that was co-written by Kiesza and feature the strong vocals of Jennifer Hudson. Be warned Go All Night will make you lose your shit, it's a full on party track.

A personal favourite of ours has to be Imagination featuring the edgy vocals of Katy Menditta. If at this point in the album you asking why you love Gorgon City? Imagination will answer that question. The album is not all sultry vocals, emotional lyrics and deep feelings, 6AM with Tish Hyman proves this and is a perfect example of the duo's versatility. 

We going to be bold and just say it Sirens might just be the album of the year. Elegant, timeless, with a romantic feel. We guess we can thank Gorgon Cities long-standing love of jungle, house, grime, hip-hop and garage while growing up for this exciting piece of music. They've only just started.. 

Tip of advice buy the DELUXE !

Buy SIRENS now
Standard - 

Deluxe - 

Amazon - 

Vinyl –

Tracklist to Gorgon City Sirens

  1. Coming Home ft. Maverick Sabre
  2. Ready For Your Love ft. MNEK
  3. Lover Like You ft. Katy B
  4. Here For You Ft. Laura Welsh
  5. FTPA ft. Erik Hassle
  6. Go All Night ft. Jennifer Hudson
  7. Unmissable Ft. Zak Abel
  8. Real Ft. Yasmin
  9. Imagination ft. Katy Menditta
  10. 6AM Ft. Tish Hyman
  11. Elevate Ft. Anne-Marie
  12. Take it All Ft. The Six
  13. Hard On Me ft. Maverick Sabre
  14. Try Me Out ft. Anne-Marie
  15. No More ft. Liv
  16. Here For You (Vevo Stripped Session)
  17. Doing it Wrong (Drake Cover)
Share This Post :
Tags : , , , , , , , , ,

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let us know what you think